Thread: How tos for: Installing and Developing a theme for 6.5 CE

Darkstar1 Guest

Post How tos for: Installing and Developing a theme for 6.5 CE

The title of my post is misleading but for now I can't think of how to word it. Essentially I'm new to 6.5 and I am chasing down material on theme development. I decided to install the ModernAqua theme on my local installation which has borne 0 fruit so far (despite some positive comments on sugarforge) I tried changing the manifest and themedef php files to allow it to be compatible with 6.5 but I just get a cryptic error message, so I installed it manually by copying the theme folder into the custom theme directory, this got it to show on the theme list but selecting it in the backend doesn't do anything. So if anyone has managed to successfully install this theme or another I would greatly appreciate the help.
    The reason I am trying to install a theme is so that I have a custom theme I can use for reference when developing my own, to this end I would like to know if there have been radical changes to theme development since 6.0 because I am planning on using this: Sugar DeveloperZone - SugarCRM Developer Documentation, Sugar Documentation as the document guide to learning.
    Thank you all for your time

dhew Guest

Default Re: How tos for: Installing and Developing a theme for 6.5 CE

I was in your shoes a few months ago when I first started messing around with Sugar CE for a real project.

Got no help. I was a bit surprised given the open source nature of the software, but I guess its because a lot of the developers here are so use to the paradigm that Sugar is business software, so unless a business wants to shell out big $$$ for a custom theme, themes are not worth it. Maybe I'm wrong, but if you search around you will find many, many threads looking for template help that have gone unanswered.

Anyways, I'll try and help where I can.