Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Goldmine to SugarCRM

  1. #1
    woodsm is offline Sugar Community Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12

    Default Goldmine to SugarCRM

    Goldmine to Sugar

    I just wanted to start a thread to ask if anyone is attempting to transition from Goldmine Sales and Marketing to the Open Source SugarCRM. I just started looking at that today.

    I posted some stuff about exporting goldmine data in this importing thread on page 3
    - - - - -
    Woods

  2. #2
    rangel is offline Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    78

    Default Re:Goldmine to SugarCRM

    can you post the header row and a few example lines from your import file where you see problems? or send it to dev@sugarcrm.com. we should get this fix into the next patch right away.

  3. #3
    sholly is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3

    Default Re:Goldmine to SugarCRM

    I'm working on getting our Goldmine migrated to Sugar. Still waiting on the guy who manage the GM data to export me a sample. I'll let you know how it goes.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5

    Cool Goldmine and Act

    isn't ACT~=Goldmine and Goldmine~= ACT I know you can convert back and forth between these, and I also was aware that their companies were associated to one another. They both use .DBF files... I suspect it shouldn't be too different.

  5. #5
    Cyric is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Goldmine to SugarCRM

    How can I import goldmine's history to SugarCRM? is there an automatic function like mapping for contact?

  6. #6
    erinn is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Goldmine to SugarCRM

    I'm actually trying to use Goldmine and SugarCRM together. Part of this is dealing with the DBF files. Does anyone know of a sane way to do this? Right now I'm just trying to use the dbase functions in PHP.

  7. #7
    Cyric is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Goldmine to SugarCRM

    I try to create new personal field in the tables(fields that i have in GM but no in SUgar) and change the code for mapping..so that i have a personal mapping correct for goldmine..for history make the same.I hope work all...

  8. #8
    tmoulder is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Goldmine to SugarCRM

    I am also looking into moving over from Goldmine 5.5. I exported all of the contacts out of Goldmine to a csv file, and then imported them into Sugar 4.2.0. I immediately noticed a problem that has been mentioned elsewhere, All of my contacts were mapped 1 to 1 to an account in their name. I am thinking about trying it again except importing the accounts first, and then importing the contacts. The problem with that is in order to avoid duplicates I see starting over from scratch. If anyone has a suggestion on how best to accomplish our goldmine migration, please speak up.
    Thanks,
    Tyson Moulder
    Computer Support Specialist
    Photo Etch

  9. #9
    stevec is offline Sugar Community Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: Goldmine to SugarCRM

    Just completed a migration from 5.0 to 4.0.1 (5.0 and 5.5 are effectively the same in terms of data structure). I didn't go with the export routines in goldmine and the import routines in Sugar as they miss a lot of details 9secondary contacts, calls, meetings, notes etc). I've written my own import routines using TSQL and an interim MSSQL server - may seem odd as a choice as goldmine was a dbase version and sugar is on mysql - but I used to admin an MSSQL goldmine installation and I'm less bad at TSQL that XML/XLST etc

    Anyway, basically ran routines to generate temporary tables in formats similar to sugar's (including the custom fields). Then imported these via navicat's import tools.

    Note - did not import emails.

    Simply: (after creating users)

    1. Created an accounts table from goldmines contact1/2 tables. (using additional filters to remove 'crap' accounts)

    2. Created notes table records from these accounts.

    3. Created contacts form the primary contacts for these accounts.

    4. Created association records between these accounts and contacts for the accounts-contacts table

    5. Created more contact from the contsupp table for these accounts and also notes for the notes table.

    6. Created accounts_contacts associate records for these secondary contacts.


    That was the simple bit!

    Next creating tasks, meetings, calls. (too few forecasts, and other supplementaries to worry about but can follow the same process). I'll just document the process for calls.

    1. created call table records from conthist (include/create account, contact and user relationships via goldmine account, record and user ids) Note - automatically set these as 'held'.

    2. created call table records from cal as above - set as planned. NOTE: as a lot of users did not 'complete' the calls, they were still in cal when they should have been in conthist. For that reason, we did this process twice, calls separated on the criteria of if they were more than a week old we assumed they had taken place and were set with a status of held.

    3. created the calls_users and calls_contacts tables from the above user and contact/account references.

    Then pulled these tables in.

    We had some more complexity as we had multiple databases and imported one database in two goes (split by territory) which was a pain. But you get the idea. Took a lot of planning and practice AND DONT FORGET TIMEZONES AND DAYLIGHT SAVING! Goldmine stores in local time, sugar stores in GMT.

    Please feel free to PM or email me - been going through this for the last few months and feel a bit of an expert on the subject.

  10. #10
    smerem is offline Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Goldmine to SugarCRM

    We just successfully wrote a program that will take a Goldmine XML export file. Split it up into 20 record pieces. The importthe records INCLUDING FULL HISTORY into SugarCRM. It's written as a module for SugaCRM.

    Works good. The Goldmine Files are huge. We have over 30,000 contacts and 5 years of history. So the import takes a while.

    Shane

    Quote Originally Posted by woodsm
    Goldmine to Sugar

    I just wanted to start a thread to ask if anyone is attempting to transition from Goldmine Sales and Marketing to the Open Source SugarCRM. I just started looking at that today.

    I posted some stuff about exporting goldmine data in this importing thread on page 3

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Enable Logging
    By vidtechsteve in forum Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2009-11-09, 02:54 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2006-10-26, 01:13 PM
  3. Replies: 61
    Last Post: 2006-10-22, 08:40 AM
  4. Merge Contacts show sql error
    By hheckner in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-10-04, 01:57 PM
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2006-07-29, 07:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •