Thread: Prospects vs Targets vs Accounts

pmfreire is offline Sugar Community Member

Default Prospects vs Targets vs Accounts

Hello List,

I am new to SugarCRM but Ihave been using CRMs for a long time. SugarCRM has lots of great features but, or I'm failing to understand how to use it or it fails when to do real sales management.

From what I can see, there are tables for Prospects, Accounts and Leads.

What I would like to have is: a big table where exists information about companies (like the one of the accounts, plus some fields but these I can add them as custom). Then, I could do some work over this companies, selecting some to contact marking them as prospects. On these prospects I should be able to register contacts (phone, mails, fax , etc), create opportunities and related quotations and, if it goes well mark them as Accounts.

So, maybe there could be just one table for company information and : - or another field defining waht it it (undefined, prospect, account); - or another table linking the company ID.

Does this make sense or I am understanding the concept wrong ?

Thanks

gsrigg is offline Sugar Community Member

Default Re: Prospects vs Targets vs Accounts

I think you may be following the process wrong. If you're starting out with a prospect, that would go in Campaigns as a Target.

When the target progresses, you would then hit the "convert" button to progress the target to a Lead.

From there, you convert the Lead through to an Opportunity and/or Account and/or Contact.

Hope this helps!,
    Gary

pmfreire is offline Sugar Community Member

I will try this workflow.